Brogan Here – In Anglesey

A great place this, the rest of the world becomes a memory very quickly once you land at Anglesey Airport.

The landing itself is a bit of a challenge because the ILS is Offset and following it down leaves you in the grass 420ft off runway centerline.

Fortunately I was advised that there are several offset ILSs in the UK. Offset ILS should be flown down to decision hight point (variable depending on aircraft and airfield). At decision height you must be able to see the runway, you then forget the ILS and fly visually on to the runway. If you don’t see it then you don’t land. Find another place to lay your head for the night.

Personally, I suspect this is the Brit’s way of keeping out the riffraff. More power to em. If I lived in a place this great I’d look to pull up the drawbridge too. Look at these snaps.  

Regrettably I can’t take credit for these arial shots. They were taken with an old Leica M by a guy who sometimes flies rescue choppers for the RAF from the local base.  He fell in love with the place too and plans to settle down here for a few years.

I really only dropped by to deliver one of the AIRs. It wasn’t really taking me out of the way. I just stopped here to refuel on the way back from JMK Mykonos rather than refueling at Shannon.

That visit was to try and do a small hotel deal at bargain prices in cash starved Greece.

I didn’t forget my promise to give you my impressions of the AIR. First, it’s great. I even love the way the new OS scrolls. Apple gets a lot of flack for this, but when I scroll up I want the paper to move up. I want my mouse to control the image, not the viewing window. I’m not aiming a gun.

There is only one thing I find disappointing. I want to be able to plug my AIR into my iMac and use it as a mountable drive. That way all the files on my AIR are accessible to me while I’m on my desktop. Maybe there is a way to do this, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

Despite this, I can truly say the Air is fit for a King. You can trust me on that.

Toodles!

This entry was posted in Brogan Nibley Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment